Muhammadu Buhari who re-contested as the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) polled a total of 15,191,847 votes to defeat the opposition main candidate, former Vice President Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Atiku Abubakar

Atiku scored a total of 11,262,978 to come second in the election which many observers described as “fair” with a margin of 3,928,869 votes.

From the declared results by INEC, Muhammadu Buhari polled highest votes and won in 19 states, while Atiku took the lead  in 17 states as well as at the federal capital territory (FCT).

The collation and announcement of all the results from across the 36 states and Federal Capital Territory was concluded at about 4:41 am with the INEC chairman announcing that the certificate of return will later on be issued to Muhammadu Buhari and Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo at the International Conference Centre (ICC).

The major opposition Party, PDP has however protested the result and said it will go to court to contest the loss.